I’m late to the party, but I started building a retro arcade machine using a $35 Raspberry Pi as the computer. The various buttons, joysticks, and other bits of control hardware will likely cost at least 5-6x times that amount by the time the whole thing is done.

I’m doing the Linux setup and prototyping control layouts (more about that tomorrow) but I’m hoping my buddy Raman with the awesome wood shop will help build a real cabinet for it when we’re ready. The thing I want to do that’s different from most of the emulator builds people usually do is that I want the control panel to lift out like a fridge shelf and be replaceable. That way when you want to play a game like Tempest or Centipede that needed a spinner or trackball, you just replace the controls. The rest of the time you can have a typical one or two stick-and-buttons setup, but this way the cabinet doesn’t need to be a mile wide to accommodate all the controls at once.

At the moment, though, it looks more like, well, “3rdWorldCade.” But it works great. Thanks to Amazon for the flexible and sturdy “building materials framework!”

IMG_1101

IMG_1103

